I made a mistake today <gulp>

Discussion in 'Trading' started by saxon, Mar 11, 2002.

1. saxon

saxon

I made a newbie mistake today. Even though I have had a lot of experience trading, most of it has been in stock index futures, and about half of that on the floor.

But now that I'm a little older, swing trading individual stocks seems more my speed; but it is, of course, a LOT different than what I am used to, in many ways...and I am humble enough (smart enough :) to admit that I have a lot to learn.

Like today, for example. As usual, I was making my once-a-week basket of purchases on (or near) the open. 15 minutes later I was stopped out of one stock with a 7% loss (it later went to -10%). Yikes!! What a way to start the week.

So I re-checked the news, and saw what I had seen before; a "new insider trade data" report. There were some substantial proposed sales, but I didn't think it was anything that was going to cause the stock to tank! I guess I was wrong.

From now on...if there is ANY negative news, I'll just watch the stock for 10 minutes or so after the open; and if it starts to drop and I know I want to own it, buy it 30 or 40 minutes AFTER the open at bargain rates.

I am sure that there are a lot of such tactical errors that one might make, so...to the real point of my post...can any of you guys recommend a book on TACTICS like this (mechanical stuff; broader strategy stuff I am pretty comfortable with)??

I'm all for "learning from experience"; but at $500 a lesson, it gets a little pricey! A little book learning might help me to avoid these sorts of land mines.

Thanks, and good luck to all.

saxon

2. BSAM

BSAM

saxon--

Here's a few ideas you might want to consider.....

1. Until you become good at understanding support/resistance, channels, etc., etc., don't play the open. Wait 20 to 40 minutes. It's too often just too volatile.

2. Watch your share size. Start small, then do larger share size. A 7% loss seems extremely steep to me.