I have a thought. How might I execute it?

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by MrAgi1, May 15, 2021.

1. MrAgi1

MrAgi1

I have a trading idea, but I don't know how to execute it in python. I am not really good at programming LOL. I am trying to backtest my trading idea in python or any other programming language.

How can I write the codes to find fx pairs that meet certain conditions written below?

First, I have to input certain parameters; the currency pair and a particular time. As an example: EURUSD and 9 AM EST.

Next, I have to define variables; PipBlock=10 pips, DAYCounter=30 trading days, PassCounter=0, FailCounter=0.

30 minutes candlestick chart is used here. In our example above we always start at the 9 AM EST candle every trading day for the last 30 trading days.
    H=high, O=open, L= low

***NOTE: When I move to the next 30 minutes candle I always retain the Open value of the initial candle(i.e the 9 AM Open candle value). The High and Low values would change to the current candle values.

Now the logic for the trade is the four blocks below:

if (H-O>10 and O-L<10)
    {PassCounter++
    Move to the next trading day}
    #The above is block 1, and it starts with the 9 AM candle. Then moves to the next 9 AM candle on the next day.

if (H-O<10 and O-L<10)
    {Move to next candle, on same trading day}
    #The Above is block 2, start with the 9 AM candle the next candle we move to is the 9:30 AM candle.

if (H-O<10 and O-L>10)
    {Move to the next candle, on the same trading day}
    #The Above is block 3, start with the 9 AM candle the next candle we move to is the 9:30 AM candle.

if (H-O>10 and O-L>10)
    {Move to the next candle, on the same trading day}
    #The Above is block 4, start with the 9 AM candle the next candle we move to is the 9:30 AM candle.