I have a problem (RE: Competition / Price Action / Swing Trades / Reversals )

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by NasiWarrior, Dec 13, 2011.

1. Background:

I'm a price action trader looking for small time frame price swings (5 - 30 minutes).

I'm keeping my eye on all the common things like EUR / ES / OIL / Dollar Index / TICK / TRIN / Key Stocks.

I don't have any lagging indicators so I'm purely trying to trade on a discretionary basis.

I admit it... I don't know how far a rally will go, or, how deep a reaction could get.

What I *can* somewhat recognize is when their are firm sellers / buyers or the market bias has changed.

Of course: even these sellers / buyers are mostly cautious about trying to fade something that - for example - has only gone up for the last 2 hours.

..And sometimes the structure of the market makes different things happen. p.s: I don't want to get into a "how to forecast the future" dialog here.

My Problem:

When the top/bottom seems to be set, and others traders are competing on the other side of the market (i.e change of direction happened)...

At this stage I *really* want to join the rally / reaction but I'm scared witless that what I'm seeing is just another pause before the prior trend resumes.

As a small time spec; I'm scared of a snap back that will hit my stop. In the end I don't take many of the best trades... Much to my chagrin.

Yes! I'd like to be able to call the top, but in reality, every single tick up could be interpreted as the "final" tick that defines the high of the day, at the time.

Can anyone relate to all this ?

It seems that most people just depend on some "magic" system.
    Wow! I'd like a magic system, but I also know, the 1st, 2nd and 3rd deviation will just kill the system so much.

2. ChDong

ChDong

you don't know how to trade
    you don't have a plan
    not the one that's tested