I have a bunch of indicators, I need a notifier...

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by zfmt, Dec 7, 2011.

1. zfmt

zfmt

So - And I'll admit I'm new to this stuff - I have a bunch of indicators I'd like to use in my strategy, but I'd like the computer to do the analyzing. Is there software that will let me set the parameters and then will notify me via some type of alarm to adjust my positions according to the indicators?

Like I want to input the charts, but instead of reading them myself, I want the computer to just look at them for me and tell me the situation based on the parameters I set.

Thanks,
    Zak

I'm sorry if there is a simple answer to this question, but I assure you it's not simple, you guys are just well informed.

2. Mr_You

Mr_You

Yes, if your chosen platform allows it, you could have an indicator developed so that when a single indicator or combination of indicators is equal to a value or falls within a range of values an audio and/or visual alert is given.

3. zfmt

zfmt

fantastic!!! I trade using questrades free platform, so the data has a delay.

is there standalone software for this? any recommendations?

4. how serious are you about your strategies? do you see it as worthwhile to invest in an automated system for them?

5. Mr_You

Mr_You

zmft, I would recommend looking into NinjaTrader. Plenty of developer support. The software is free until you begin trading live using NinjaTrader to submit orders. So for example, you could download and setup NinjaTrader, have it connect to Kinetick as a data feed then submit orders manually using another software package/broker. At least until you can graduate to submitting orders to a broker via NinjaTrader.

Regardless you could probably do something similar with TradeStation or MultiCharts or any other program that you can develop indicators for.

6. zfmt

zfmt

Hey guys, thanks for the help!