I had to get a real Job

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by fan27, Apr 5, 2004.

1. fan27

fan27

After working in the telecom industry for 3 years, saving up a stake, then quitting a year ago to daytrade the S&P fulltime, I went back to work last Wednesday.

The first 8 months of this past year I experienced a steady downward slope in my equity curve (modest losses trading 100 shrs of SPY). The past 4 months I have been breakeven trading ES. I got to the point to where I realized this was going to take longer than expected and it was doing me no good bleeding my capital for living expenses.

I did not get a job related to my previous profession (programming). I now work as a Valet at the local Marriott. I am not making much money but I am able to work during non market hours and by only working 4 days a week I will only have to withdraw $400.00 a month from my capital for living expenses if I stay at breakeven. At this rate, I can last several more years.

One of many things I have learned this past year trading the S&P is that one must be willing to go to any lengths. If you aren't, try something easier, like dentistry.:)

2. How about trading currency.. or swing trade ETF's.

A lot of ways to make money in this business. Daytrading the ES is probably one of the hardest.

--MIKE

3. T-REX

T-REX

Well said.

T-REX

4. GGSAE

GGSAE

Wow, your story is all too familiar with mine. I currently work as a hotel bellmen, after deciding i didn't want too pursue a career in my education. So, in order to continue to trade i went back to work full-time and opened up my own account for swing trading. As long as your comfortable doing this for the time-being, work toward your goal of being able to support yourself through trading either in-house or on your own. Good luck.

5. Ditch

Ditch