I don't get bull put spread risk/reward

Discussion in 'Options' started by Robwynge, Mar 20, 2011.

1. Robwynge

Robwynge

Hey guys,

I am new to options and I'm finding myself mystified by something. I keep reading how a great way to make income in a bull market is by selling puts. I get that selling naked puts is somewhat risky (though not obvious that it's any more risky than just owning shares outright), so if I want to cap my risk, a bull put spread is the way to go.

HOWEVER, every trade I try to set up in Thinkorswim shows a max loss that exceeds the max profit. Coming from the stock/futures world, regularly taking trades with unfavorable R/R is a cardinal sin. Here is an example:

Sell April 145 puts for $18.20
    Buy April 140 puts for $17.00

Max profit = $1,200
    Max loss = $3,800

That's a 1/3 risk rward! I can widen the spread to up my reward, but obviously that ups my risk too.

The only way this strategy could have a positive expectancy is to have a huge win rate, which I suppose may be possible with deep OTM puts, but still.

Does anyone trade these regularly? If so, could you kindly explain if I am missing something here? How do people make this work?

Thanks!

-Rob

2. is that 145/140 OTM or ATM? If it's OTM then yeah the risk will be larger. If you are sure it's a raging bull, ATM would be better R:R.

3. Robwynge

Robwynge

That's out of the money. In fact, it's based on what I typed into Thinkorswim a couple of hours ago, so it's 30 or so SPX points OTM. Yes, closer to the money and the R:R is higher (though risk still exceeds reward), but then the odds of a winning trade are lower.