I don't get bull put spread risk/reward

Discussion in 'Options' started by Robwynge, Mar 20, 2011.

1. Robwynge

Robwynge

Hey guys,

I am new to options and I'm finding myself mystified by something. I keep reading how a great way to make income in a bull market is by selling puts. I get that selling naked puts is somewhat risky (though not obvious that it's any more risky than just owning shares outright), so if I want to cap my risk, a bull put spread is the way to go.

HOWEVER, every trade I try to set up in Thinkorswim shows a max loss that exceeds the max profit. Coming from the stock/futures world, regularly taking trades with unfavorable R/R is a cardinal sin. Here is an example:

Sell April 145 puts for $18.20
    Buy April 140 puts for $17.00

Max profit = $1,200
    Max loss = $3,800

That's a 1/3 risk rward! I can widen the spread to up my reward, but obviously that ups my risk too.

The only way this strategy cou

2. tcca

tcca

http://optionabc.com/Level-One:-Foundation.php
    Check this free site out to help grasp the risk/reward side. The part on verticals reflects on your question
    If you are new to options look at these 12 free sessions that explain verticals and other option trades. The are by Alex Mendeza and he provides more for free than most charge big bucks for.
    Hope this helps clear your head somewhat as they are done in very straight forward manner

3. Here you go ... $3999 folllow.
    :D

4. tcca

tcca

Sorry you think that way Galvin.
    I just stumbled on the site recently and watched the free videos.
    Yes there probably are further costly seminars and certainly would Not recommend them, but these free ones do have some value that would cost many $$$s from other sites for sure.