I cant find linux friendly API

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by jbales63, Jan 9, 2010.

1. jbales63

jbales63 Guest

Im not sure if this is the correct forum,,but any info will be helpful. I have have almost finished developing a "grey box" with analytics, back testing capabilities and a Dom GUI. It has been developed on Mono ported to debian using C^ and .net . The APi being written to uses COM Interop library and requires their proprietary API presence. Is any one doing anything linux. Again any point in the direction of FCM or IB. With an API that is not java or Com dependant would be helpful

2. Craig66

Craig66

MBs FIX/Quote API is a TCP protocol, no other dependencies.

3. jbales63

jbales63 Guest

I just checked it out looks like thats what Im looking . Ive been trading for 15 years I havent even seen the name before , thanks again

4. jjw

jjw ET Sponsor

Rithmic's R | API is a set of C++ libraries. It runs on Linux and Windows. Later this month we expect to release a version that is pure .NET. We also accept orders via FIX 4.2.

5. DTN IQFeed works perfectly under wine on Ubuntu - including 64bit Ubuntu. The "API" is just a TCP connection with simple messages and is easy to code to. I understand that DTN Nxcore also is fine on Linux.

InteractiveBrokers TWS also OK on Linux.

6. Jonathan,

I took a look at the rithmic web, but I could not find very much information. Could you please give me some idea about the pricing of your service? I know that it depends on the subscribed exchanges/securities, but any number for a base service or any sample price would help to get an idea. Furthermore I like to know if you offer an interface for native C++ and also versions for native 32-bit OS and native 64-bit OS (not a 32-bit version that runs under a 64-bit OS!) ?

Thanks
    Daniel

7. YOu will find that the R API is available: