I am new

Discussion in 'Options' started by JSHINV, Jun 25, 2006.

1. JSHINV

JSHINV

I usually avoid posting on public boards, because of trolls, flames and similar reasons. But, reading this board it seems fairly tame.

I am new to options. I have been trading for about two months or so. I have about $50,000, in my account and am down about $5000 (2500 of it realized). This is well within my risk tolerance. I have a defined benefit pension plan, got a 401 K (in short terms government bonds) that I don't touch, I can retire in 4 years without worrying about this brokerage account. I don't want to lose it of course, but I want to become good at trading options, because I find it absolutely fascinating and fun. By the time I retire, I want to be proficient at it.

I have read or am reading a few books on Options. The best by far is "Options as a Strategic Investment" by Lawrence McMillan.

I have a few observations and would appreciate knowledgeable comments. The first is, unless one understands the math and has the aptitude to understand the math, one should probably stay away from options. For example one needs to understand all the greeks and I don't meant just understand what they conceptually mean by definition; I mean you need to understand the formulas inside and out. I am reading Chapter 40 in McMillan's book "Advanced Concepts," and if one doesn't have a clear understanding of those concepts, then s/he shouldn't be in the game.

I have a mathematical aptitude, rusty though, because I haven't had any need to use it since college. My career took a different direction. I have taken advanced algebra, advanced calculus, statistics (this I have used recently in my job) and so forth, but that was going on over 30 years ago! Yesterday, I found myself looking up how to solve simultaneous equations, something I learned to do in high school.