i am new, where is a good starting point?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by SoCalHeli, Mar 4, 2004.

1. as the topic says, i am just getting into trading short term, what should i look for, what should i read? where should i go for more info...thanks in advance.

socalheli@hotmail.com

2. Go to your library and ask them to borrow these books for you, if they don't have them.

Edwards & Magee
    Technical Analysis of Stock Trends.

Tony Oz
    Day Trading Wizard
    The Stock Trader
    How to Make Money From Wall Street
    Stock Trading Wizard.

Download the Medved Quote Tracker off of the Net
    Get an Account with Interactive Brokers for quotes.

Regards and welcome to Elite Trader

Ps Check out the chat room during the day. If you can sift through the bullshit you might learn something there too.

3. thank you very much, i am headed to the library right now, and thanks for pointing out the chat room...i didnt notice it up there. hehe

4. well just got back and they didnt have any one of them, and the technical analysis of stock trends they only had teh 6th edition....hymmm would it be worth my time to buy buy these books from amazon? thanks

5. If you have not read anything on Technical Analysis then I would say buying the Edwards and Mcgee book would be worth it as the first time you read it you can hi-lite as you go along and then re-read the hilited parts and it is a book you will refer to for a long time if you stay with this.
    As to the others mentioned, it depends on your finances as well as how much of the material will stick with after reading them and returning to library, you may want to see if they can do an inter-library loan, check them out, read them and then decide if you want to order each particular one for your reference library.

6. check tradersbrain.com. if they have them, you can borrow them for the postage.