HowTo Speed up ThinkorSwim Chart Loading time Or any Java platform

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by tlow, Jan 27, 2011.

Did this work for you with your platfrom?

1. ThinkorSwim YES!

3 vote(s)
    75.0%
  2. ThinkorSwim NO :(

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Interactive Brokers Yes!

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Interactive Brokers NO :(

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Other Java Platform YES!

1 vote(s)
    25.0%
  6. Other Java Platfrom NO :(

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. tlow

tlow

So this guide is intended for Linux users, ubuntu in particular. For you Windoze users, I haven't tried it on the various OS. If I get time I will try it out and see if i can make a how to for you.

Caution: I have no idea if this is going to break your graphics and/or your Operating system. Do this at your own risk know the consequences...make sure you have everything backed up before proceeding. Also, I am not an expert by any means. If you have a question, I will do my best to help, but maybe some of the Java/programmers/computer geeks can chime in as well to help out.

Other Notes: The basis of this howto is using the OpenGL driver for your graphics card. I will show some basic steps, but you need to find out 1.) if you graphics card can support it and 2.) if it can be enabled on your operating system...that is beyond the scope of this tutorial (and somewhat beyond me). Google is your friend.

This should work for any Java based platform. I did it on Thinkorswim since that is what I run and noticed a huge difference...especially in the load speed of the charts. Im guessing it should work for you IB TWS users or any java platform for that matter.

I ran this on a Dell E6400 with Intel GMA4500 HMD integrated graphics with Ubuntu Lucid installed.

I cannot take any credit for this other than writing it up...I found the majority of the information here:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1129187

So lets get started:

First,
    lets make sure your graphics are running ok.