how's this deal look in comparison?

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by ysl280, Apr 30, 2007.

1. ysl280

ysl280

i'm in my third year of trading now and making about $20k/mo, trading near 1million shares/mo. I have no cap contribution, am being charged 0.006c/share with 80% payout. i work for a sub-LLC at schonfeld on the retail side. no desk fees, but I have to pay for market data and reuters service. am i getting a reasonable deal?

also was considering moving to a prop firm to get licensed. they're offering 5k deposit which isn't such a big deal but would give me 50k in buying power - a SERIOUS step back from where i'm at now. they're offering 100% payout but at 0.007c which would be lowered after i've proven my ability to trade with them. am i stepping forwards or backwards by wanting my series? the only reason i want to get my series is so that i can start on my own and receive leverage. is it necessary?

currently in nyc, but looking for firms in cali as well.

advise is appreciated.

2. ysl280

ysl280

anyone?

3. ysl280

ysl280

anyone?

4. Dustin

Dustin

That's a pretty bad deal if you have $25k to contribute. At your level it should be 100% payout at .003 or less.

addition: if you deposit $25k you can easily get $1-5M bp.

5. Fractal

Fractal

.006-.007 p/s is ridiculous on 1 mil a month, moreso with an 80% payout, especially if you are (grossing, I assume?) 20k a month. For someone hitting those numbers, after 3 years of working in the business, I am surprised you are not experienced enough to have found a better deal by now.

You could get around .003 and 99%-100% with that volume at any of the established prop firms in NYC. They might jack your rate to .005 in the beginning to see if you really are able to perform, but after that any smart business owner would give you market rates.

6. ysl280

ysl280