how would you play expecting Tim's plan out?

Discussion in 'Options' started by mizhael, Mar 23, 2009.

1. As a newbie, I kept losing track of market events. This morning when I woke up the market was all rallying up, induced by Tim giving out his plan.

Looking back, should I have kept track of this important event, I should have entered into some trades last week, say Friday.

My question is: what type of option strategy shall I play, last week, say Friday, in expectation of his plan today?

Any thoughts?

Thanks a lot!

2. Mizhael,

I just wanted to comment on this quickly. I think it is easier looking back after a day like today and think that a person should have bought some short term calls and especially on financials, but you have to remember that the market reaction isn't always (and in fact often isn't) what a person might expect.

For example, what if everyone had expected a great plan from Geitner and then when it came out, the market had hated it? Also, people have been so conditioned to "buy the rumor, sell the news" that it wouldn't have been shocking to see the market fall for a day or 2 even on news that was long run good for the market.

Anyways, just trying to point out that it's often easy to look back and say "oh, that was obvious - how did I miss that", but it is alot harder to know what the actual market reaction will be to news (this includes company earnings reports as well).

JJacksET4

3. It will fade out like all these bear rallies. I wrote calls on the morning. The whole thing will fade out in a few days.

Nothing fundamental about are economy is better than last week. I would like to see some improvements in things like unemployment, earnings (good solid earnings not earnings based on tax advantages etc..),etc..

4. spindr0

spindr0

Guessing the direction that the market will move on pending news is hit or miss. Riding the momentum of the reaction to that news is much safer bet.