How would infrastructure spending benefit the working class?

Discussion in 'Economics' started by drcha, Nov 23, 2016.

1. drcha

drcha

Maybe I'm ignorant: someone please enlighten me. Say I'm an ex-miner with no job for the last 5 years, living in Bumfuck, WV, and upside down in my little house. Now, Trump decides to build roads (for example).

1. Could this somehow provide me with a job? I have no experience building roads. I think they would hire the experienced people first.

2. Even if the answer to #1 were Yes, would I take the job? No one is going to build a road through my now-defunct mining town, so I would have to move myself to where the job is. So far, I have stayed in my house and voted for Trump, but I have not, in the last 5 years, pulled up stakes and moved to another place and gotten a different job.

2. java

java

Infrastructure, tariffs, min wage, war spending, subsidies, all just taking money out of one pocket and putting it in the other. So now we are just fighting over which pocket to put it in this time until innovation gets the ball rolling again in our direction.

The government can't make jobs, but they certainly can stop making it hard for us to hire if the need should ever arise.

Otherwise, coal miners have no difficulty building roads. They have been building under ground and above roads for centuries. What has changed is the departure from conservative economics straight to the worker who needs a job whether his depressed coal mining town needs one or not. We have had no problem building a road in Iraq because Halliburton needs a contract.

I'm pretty sure if given a grant the local government could build and own their own mine, or road or hospital or school. Ownership is the key. Hired help is a thing of the past.

tommo likes this.
  3. comagnum

comagnum

Putin_Trump.jpg