How would I go about Programming this?

Discussion in 'App Development' started by GuyM, Sep 15, 2011.

1. GuyM

GuyM

Hi just a quick programming question as I am new to programming and I am trying to program a FOREX strategy which I have come up with.

I am using ProRealTime software for my programming as this is my charting package.

How do I create a condition that a candle must touch a certain horizontal support/resistance line to qualify for entry (which will have been identified by me manually before hand)?

I have already programmed the type of candle but I just need this further condition of touching a certain price level.

I can't seem to work out how to integrate price levels into my coding, any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,

Guy

2. You use an if/else statement. The correct syntax would depend on the programming language you are using.

PHP:
    <?php
    $test 
    32;
    if (
    $test >= 40) {
       echo 
    "Yes, $test is greater than 40.";
       } else {
       echo 
    "No, $test is less than 40.";
       }
    ?> 
    Code:
    Output:
    No, 32 is less than 40

3. You need to make your code accept an input number, then check if the Close (this is assuming the code is being processed on every tick) = the input number.

e.g.

InputNumber = 500;

if (Close[0] == InputNumber) .<....Do something>;

4. GuyM

GuyM

ForexForex, thanks for the reply, I tried doing what you said but I didn't work, probably because I didn't really understand the coding of that. Prorealtime didn't understand a few symbols like $ etc.

The level im trying to work is 63.47 on NZDJPY if you can change the code to suit that? I might need to find someone to code this for me instead of trying it myself.

Thanks for your interst!

5. GuyM

GuyM

MarketMasher, Thanks for your reply, I really appreciate it.

I just tryed what you said and I put in the following code:

InputNumber= 63.47

IF Close[0] = inputnumber THEN

Structure=1

Else

Structure=0

ENDIF