How to work in a bank/or botique/or firm with no experience

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Trademanstan, Sep 27, 2012.

1. I know this has been probably covered before, but I am From Ohio, United States, and I am interested in becoming a trader, I perfer the floor on the CBOT or NYSE, and buy a seat eventually

or Start a hedge fund or both

I saw that Raymond Dalio and Carl Icahn, and several others had broker/trader jobs

How do i get the experience to be taken seriously by firms? ANd how can I build a investment trading record as im working as a trader? and build client base working through a firm/bank/botique?

I believe Ray Dalio started on the floor. then he was head of the Commodities division at a firm..

It is the experience he recieved on the floor that got him the job as head of the commodities desk.. it is the relationships and the paper proof of successful trades that got his hedge fund started

and How do i find clients when im a trader? how do I find high net worth investors and of the likes?

and my major is a graduate tri-major Law/economics/computer science.
    If i have my PhD in economics, will i be over qualified?

Whats the best way to get in the door?
    some of these questions are rather dumb.. but i'd rather ask a dumb question than to not ask it at all.. at least ill know one way or the other.

please help

Midas

2. Maverick74

Maverick74

3. CT10Gov

CT10Gov

First, you should go read to that JPM thread so that you know what not to do... but I'll assume you mean well and are serious:

As the guy above said, you are too late for this sort of a path. It no longer really exists.

But that doesn't mean you can't get a start. Not to state the obvious: but have you done on-campus recruitment? Have you tried applying for all the analyst programs on the sell side AND the buy side? There are still plenty of entry level jobs.