How to Trade a Stocks Earning Report?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Lloyd W. Coutee, Nov 6, 2015.

1. If the company did very well, it could jump quite a bit due to the earnings news and you can make a few thousand dollars very quickly.
    On the other hand, you can also lose a few thousand dollars very quickly, depending on how the company did or when the stock moves down.

2. you could buy some Calls, AND Puts, out of the money.
    There's a name for this, maybe a Strangle - don't remember

i have no actual experience doing this, but i recommend it to all my clients :D

to experiment, try it with just one contract,
    [i'll waive my normal commission]

marc
    :cool:

3. ms288

ms288

read this book will give you an example of how to go about it systematically at least. You are correct in that it is completely binary, you will probably either hit the homerun or lose your bet. Thus its important to pick those stocks thats have history of moving a lot during previous releases, even better if they have recent history of moving in the same direction that you're trading, and overlay charts strength, and historical earnings growth. Also, since if you're wrong you will lose 100% (just assume this will happen if wrong) it is important that you risk a small percentage of your account on each trade. Make this amount consist across many trades as you will not be able to forecast which will win and which will not (of the trades you take). Thus you don't want to bet 10k on a loser and only 1k on a winner. also i would probably stick to trading only long calls and long puts as these will offer the largest potential reward and your risk will be capped at the size of your bet.

4. Autodidact

Autodidact

Only veteran traders should trade earning reports. In your case, stay as far as you can from them.

5. You can't be a veteran, unless you do it. -- so jump in
    [​IMG]

xandman likes this.
  6. xandman

xandman