How to test a Risk/Money Management

Discussion in 'Risk Management' started by SimpleMeLike, Aug 7, 2016.

1. Hello,

I want to make sure I am on the right track.

Please let me know if my testing method for what I want do for my system is how you would test.

I am an ES trader still trying to test my strategy for the profitability I want. So far so good, but lately I kind of struggle with how to adjust my stop regarding when to breaking even, trailing a winner, all in and all out/ etc.

So I decided rather to guess at one method, test them all using how I trade and see which one provides the most money. I added in my spreadsheet to record profit for each different scenarios I want to try for every trade I take. I am paper trading. It will be tedious work, but at least I will know the stats.

My scenarios are:
    how many pts when trail by 2pts
    adjust my stop loss BE when up by 2pts
    no stop adjustment, all in and all out (win or lose)
    manually adjust stop loss based on price action at the moment
    etc,

Your opinion is well appreciated.

Last edited: Aug 7, 2016
  2. TradeCat

TradeCat

Trading ES futures? You'll make money half the time. In the long run, you'll break even or be broke.

3. Thanks for your comment TradeCat

K-Pia likes this.
  4. K-Pia

K-Pia

I'd say ... Just don't overthink Risk Management.
    Risk Management is about diminishing Ruin @ the limit.
    Once you've found an advantage, you stress test it then see.
    Always ask, test, if something provides you an advantage or not.
    Does the trailing stop problem is a real problem ? Will it make or break it ?
    Not sure ... For me at least ... Trailing Stops add more problems than they solve.
    But if you incorporate it. Maybe you should also adjust it according to volatility.

SimpleMeLike likes this.
  5. Thank you K-Pia for responding, "you stress test it then see"?

What do you mean by "

You are great contribute to ET. You simple logic thinking has really helped me.