How to risk more money? Problems with risking more

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by agent54, Aug 18, 2020.

1. agent54

agent54

I currently have a $15000 account, I'm a student. Currently I risk less than 1%, about $15 per trade. If I risk 1% that's 150/trade. Which is still quite a lot to me because I'm still a student.

The problem is that even though 1% is a good risk amount, I can't bear to lose $150. I am ok with $15 though, which is what I am currently risking per trade (0.15%). Even if I have a 1M account, i probably wont risk 1%/$1000, and not even $500, probably $100 max.

Will this change when I start working? Ideally I'd like to risk 1%.

murray t turtle and Tradex like this.
  2. smallfil

smallfil

They say not to risk more than 2% per trade. Risking just 1% if you are a newbie trader makes sense. It will allow you to figure out the stockmarket and how best to trade it while, risking only a small amount per trade. You will avoid blowing up your account which a lot of newbie traders do because they want to be overnight millionaires risking huge amounts of their capital in one trade. Having proper risk management and position sizing is the first step in becoming a very good trader. You reduce the fear of losses and you could have 5 losing trades, all at once. At 1%, you would have lost only 5% of your capital and that is on a worst case scenario. Still, you have enough capital to comeback from those small losses.

3. oshjdf

oshjdf

Instead of thinking about increasing risk per trade, how about thinking whether your system has positive expectancy and robust? If your system doesn't have positive expectancy and not robust, increasing risk per trade will only accelerate your system drawdown.

orbit23 likes this.
  4. MrMuppet

MrMuppet

Why do you want to risk 1% per trade? Who says that is a good amount? Perhaps it's too much, perhaps it isn't enough...who knows?