How to protect my account against F/X-loss

Discussion in 'Risk Management' started by MouseClick, Jul 16, 2008.

1. Hello,

I plan to shift my focus from European stocks to US stocks. My home currency is the Euro, but it makes more sense to open an account with an US online broker, because their fees are much lower when it comes to trading US stocks.

My question is this: What is a good way to protect myself against currency effects? Are there any products (ETFs etc.) that you can recommend? Should I trade the currency itself, bonds, SWAPs or similar products (which I have no experience in)?

We are talking about an account of 100,000 EUR = 160,000 USD (plus profits :p ). The account is meant to be kept for several years, so the means of currency protection should reflect that.

I do NOT intend to make any money from the F/X fluctuations. All I want is to have a more or less cheap "insurance" against the currency effects.

Thank you all for your advice!
    - MouseClick

2. MGJ

MGJ

3. Pita

Pita

Hi Mouseclick,

if you just want to keep the rate stable all you have to do is opening 2 accounts, one in Euro and one in US$ fund one account with 50k Euro and the second one with US$ representing the value of 50k Euro converted to the exchange rate you get when doing the transaction.

Then there you are perfectly hedged with the 100k Euro. Things might get complicated when trading but when you do some maths you can easily figure out what to do. For daytrading it probably doesnt matter wich account you are using and for position or investments with longer time frame you can split up the position to both accounts equally.

4. Hi Pita,

thanks for your reply! But I'm afraid I don't get the point. :eek: