How to proceed?

Discussion in 'Forex' started by Laventus, Apr 18, 2019.

1. Laventus

Laventus

New to these forums. I have read them for quite a while but never made an account to post until now. I am curious if anyone is able to offer some feedback on what I have been doing thus far. I have been learning to trade now for about 6 years, forex exclusively. I would say the first 3ish years are so were essentially hitting all the noob traps in terms of mentors/gurus, going through every indicator in the book, testing premade EA's, etc. All in, in regards to losses on accounts/tools/material since I started is ~$7000.00, which is at least 1 positive aspect.

Fast forward to about a couple years ago, I finally just ended up sticking purely to TA in terms of candles and dropping indicators. I prefer to stick creating the strategy myself because I can't have confidence in what someone else does unless i thoroughly vet it myself. The closest to profitability I have come over trading a set strategy for months after comms has been break even(all live, forward testing). As of recently, I have modified my trading a bit, made a new rule set(no subjectivity), and tested it on an mt4 back tester running through data from october 2018-present. The only thing I of course cannot account for would be live slippage, however i took all trades on a spread that would be higher than normal. In regards to commissions, i thought the tester was set to commission in/out in stead of round trip so my commission should be double what they will be in the screenshot, so overall growth should be about ~18%. Attached will be the stats and the graph. Now I know it's not the largest sample size, but takes a while to do manually running through it so this is the information I have thus far.