How To Manage And Measure Risk If Volatility Is Not It?

Discussion in 'Risk Management' started by ironchef, Nov 5, 2018.

1. ironchef

ironchef

This is the most troubling and nagging question I have since day one. It is especially troublesome after I became a "full time trader": Should I embrace volatility? How should I define risk in my model? Is trading volatility similar to trading risky instruments?....

Basically I am a Beta trader, trying to capture higher returns by trading higher Beta instruments, etc. If volatility is not risk, then there is hope that as a volatility (Beta) traders I can achieve long term success, if it is a good proxy for risk then I am doomed. Am I fooled by volatility/randomness?

Any comments and guidances will be appreciated.

2. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

Yes.
    I can't answer that for you.
    Yes through sizing your trades based on your account size, expectancy of profit and planning your exits.

IAS_LLC, wrbtrader and ironchef like this.
  3. get sober.

4. wrbtrader

wrbtrader

Is trading volatility similar to trading risky instruments?

I like to add that the two (trading volatility / trading risky instruments) are independent of each other.

wrbtrader

5. Best way.

1. Decide in advance how much you're willing to risk that your bet is correct. Place a hard stop there.

2. When volatility is higher, use a wider stop. Reduce position size as/if necessary.

6. tomorton

tomorton

Volatility is a major risk and using a volatility-based stop-loss is one way to respond, setting a stop at say 2 x ATR20 out from entry, or using TA to find a suitable s/r level which is not less than 2 x ATR20 out.

But this sort of risk is amplified for swing or reversal traders or chart pattern traders because once you're been stopped out that's probably the end of that set-up.