How to learn to code a "system" to backtest

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by jrlvnv, Jan 6, 2011.

1. jrlvnv

jrlvnv

I have found something looking at some charts in the forex that looks interesting to say the least. I know it can be coded but I have no idea on where to start. I have 2 brokers and have been testing the "system" out in live trading. I have scanned back in time and can the system failing at times but many many profitable trades.

So how do I learn how to code using MT4? I have no background in programming :/ Can it be done? LOL

2. Probably the easiest way is to bring up one the sample EA's , go through the code and hit F1 when on any commands you're interested in to see the help topic on it.

Also stick message boxes in different sections of the code, so you get an idea of how the EA flows after each price tick.

If you PM the details of your system I'll give you a hand if you like.

3. PLease tell me the idea, I will trade it for a while and then I will help you when I come back from Hawaii. :)

4. Dan_Gor

Dan_Gor

2 options for you my dear friend

1) pay some one to do it for you, just look up Custom MQL programming
    2) go to the official site http://www.mql5.com/en/docs, or check out the online tutorials, it is not to hard but you have to really get the basics right

5. I was in a similar position a while ago.

The best place to start is learn how to program in any language of your choice (stick to the usual Python, C++, Java). This is not necessary, but will certainly help you develop coherent coding logic.

Next, learn how to build EAs (I'm currently at this stage). Online tutorial are a great way to start, however I'd suggest getting these books:
    http://www.amazon.com/High-Probabil...=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1300512324&sr=1-1

^Has a section on building basic trading systems without any prior programming experience.

http://www.amazon.com/Expert-Advisor-Programming-Automated-MetaTrader/dp/0982645902