How to get a "good" analyst job ?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by rjmahan, Feb 7, 2010.

Are there any jobs in the city with a good standard of living ?

1. No, Sleep is for wimps.

2 vote(s)
    18.2%
  2. Dude- you tripled your capital, work for yourself.

5 vote(s)
    45.5%
  3. Sure, but you need to get the right job.

1 vote(s)
    9.1%
  4. Sure, but you need more experience.

3 vote(s)
    27.3%
  1. rjmahan

rjmahan

Between 2006 and 2008 I worked as a buy side analyst at a US asset manager based in London. I passed CFA level 1 with flying colours.

I left as I was sick of 50+ hour weeks and a lousy quality of life - commute / reasonably high pressure.

Since then I have moved up north to do admin for a university. In my spare time I have managed my own portfolio which has more than tripled. (Mostly equities without using silly leverage).

Does anyone know of anywhere I can get a job doing some sort of equity analysis which will give me a good standard of living?

Everywhere in the city seems to be rather high stress and quite unpleasant. As I get older and (ideally) richer the typical city job just does not appeal.

Before I left I tried to bargain and do things like ask for far less money than they were offering for fewer hours but no-one would negotiate.

I enjoyed, was good at and to some extent miss the job - however I want a better deal. Does anyone have any ideas how I can get one?

2. Start an advisory firm (you have a CFA, correct), how hard would it be to set up even over the net?

3. rjmahan

rjmahan

Advisory firm - would seem to make sense - I dont have full CFA only level 1.

I did the IMC - (I am in the UK) I dont know how it is in the US but in the UK an advisory firm is so limited in the way it can advise and how it can charge to me it isnt attractive.

Regulation is so strict seems like there is only very limited "advice" you are permitted to give and you would spend most of your time managing the FSA.