How to get a Clerk Job anywhere

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by sledged, Jan 23, 2006.

1. sledged

sledged

I am a recent college grad interested in getting a clerk position on any of the exchanges NYMEX. NYBOT, NYSE, etc, or even a clerk position in any kind of trading floor. I know that this is a great way to learn the markets and is much better to me than sitting in the avg. corporate setting. Can someone help me get started in ways to find a position like this. I am willing to lower my salary requirements if it will help me get my foot in the door and learn a lot. Thanks in advance.

2. A couple of things (I am a member of a few exchanges), first of all, you won't start off as a clerk (you don't have the background to understand what is going on), most likely you would start off as a runner, one that literally fetches coffee and notes for the senior tranders. Second of all, runners are paid horribly, you are looking at 20-30k. Third of all, due to electronic trading, the number of floor traders have dropped significantly from the high in the late 90s, even the couple of NYSE floor traders I know are wondering what they are going to do next. I am an exchange member, but the last time I went to the floor was almost 7-8 months ago now.

So, in comparison, if you can get a job as a corporate finance analyst or the like on Wall Street, it is a better route than becoming a floor runner (and then becoming a clerk), you would make much more money, and has a much more certain future.

3. timmyz

timmyz

lol sledged way back when i was still in college i actually wanted to do the same thing. i didn't even live in new york at the time and i went all the way down to the NYSE to ask for an application to be a runner! i didn't even know anybody there. lol makes me laugh to think about it now.