How to find clients?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by festrader, Dec 3, 2007.

1. festrader

festrader

Hi,
    I have 10 years experience with trading. Since Oct 2006 I trade for a living, I have account in Interactive Brokers but this is small account and usually I have to withdraw almost all my monthly profits for my expanditure. I'm already prepared to open managed accounts, but I don't know where I should try to find clients, I can't offer this to any of Funds or so because I'm not CTA.
    In other side my performance involves low risk and low % profits so I have problem with finding private investors whose usually prefer high rate of return.
    Some examples of my statistical data:
    Monthly avg return: +7.9%
    Standard deviation: 6.5%
    Sharpe's ratio: 1.15
    wining month: 12
    losing month: 1 (-4.16%)

What do you suggest me?

Regards
    Robert

2. Get friends and family to give you money to trade with and build a track record of 5-6 years, ideally over a complete market cycle. Word of mouth at this point is your only option. Make it clear to investors that your priority is not to make outsized returns at all costs, but your goal is to NOT lose money so they won't pressure you for performance when the market dictates capital preservation over taking risk. Get your result audited like clockwork. Later, potential 3rd party investors will check your results for (in order of importance):

#1 Ability to preserve capital in times of market turmoil
    #2 Risk/Reward metrics (E.g. annualized ROR% vs. Max DD)

3. festrader

festrader