How to find a Prop. Firm?

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by JML845, Jan 23, 2004.

1. JML845

JML845

I'm a trader who is just starting out and I'm looking for a prop firm in Arizona. I've seen firms that want 5$ or 10$ grand to start trading with them, but I thought a prop firm gave you the capital and took a percentage of the gains? Any help or advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

2. cosmic

cosmic

I am asking mself exactly the same question at the moment, beeing a futures trader located in Germany.

Best would be firms that also offer a profound mentoring/educational program I think...

If anyone has a good hint, please PM me...

Best to you,
    cosmic

3. Mecro

Mecro

Prop firms want risk capital, usually a minimum of 5k. Basically, you are expected to churn away that 5k and then you get cut off. Or you start getting profitable and then you make it.

4. search on the threads for the $5,000 thread by Bright

they're the best, hands down

Echotrade is also in your area

Assent was hit hard by the SEC stepping down on the bullets, and, well, know someone who can tell you the honest skinny before signing with them...

in general, get to know someone whom you trust, that can give you the real skinny on a firm before committing your monies....

take some of your funds and actually go to their offices and see their presentations. Socialize at lunch with some of the traders and see whether that's the atmosphere you can tolerate, and they can tolerate you.

If you're starting out remote, then those words are golden, and you'd have to do twice as much research before committing.

Alternative are:

SEC PDT rule using the 4:1 trading at the other retail firms where you build up your balance to over the $25,000 required. This essentially means trading positions instead of daytrading and violating the PDT. Perhaps a few key option trades that pay back 8:1 will through you over the required $25,000 account balances.

MB Trading
    Trade Station Securities
    MyTrack