How to convince wife to let me trade full time?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Hardo, Mar 8, 2010.

1. Hardo

Hardo

Here's the situation:

Currently have a decent job that has flexible hours that allows me to trade about half time. When I have had time off in the past that has allowed me to trade full time I have done well. My current job could possibly end by July and I have nothing lined up if it does.

I know I can collect unemployment while I look for a new job but I would rather trade than look for further employment. I am a college grad with a decent network of contacts but jobs right now are hard to come by and when they are offered it seems that salaries are getting smaller because of the intense competition for them.

I live in the midwest where the cost of living is very low compared other areas. A salary of $50-75 grand would allow us to live very comfortably. Here is where the argument begins, I believe I can make this trading on my own. Making my own hours and being my own boss really appeals to me. I would rather make $50 grand a year working 40 hours a week trading than work 50 plus hours a week to bring home $60 grand a year working for the "man" and having to deal with the daily bs that goes along with it. My wife would rather me work for the man even though it would drive me nuts just so we can have the security of his paycheck.

Please do not jump all over me saying that I can't make this kind of money on my own. The way I look at it is it is only $200 to $300 a day average to make this kind of money. I use low risk set ups and limit my losses. I would also like your input about the benefits argument, working for the man I would get health benefits. Going at it on my own I would have to find these benefits elsewhere.

Any input is greatly appreciated.

2. What is your trading history like?

3. Hardo

Hardo