how to code my own system from scratch ?

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by gayaku, Jan 10, 2010.

1. gayaku

gayaku

Hi,

I would like to code my own automated trading system from scratch, using Interactive Brokers API, but without reinventing the wheel.

I am a software developer, I have already tried retail software, and now I want to build my own platform, probably in Java or C#.

Is anybody aware of a sort of open-source trading platform that could help me to start ? Something very basic.

I looked a JSystemTrader and JBookTrader, it seems too evolved for what I need, and some design choices will make my task difficult (for example
    "it's not designed to check hundreds of different securities and select the ones that satisfy some criteria")

I'd like to find some sample code for low-level things, such as:
    - receive an event when a price is updated (new bar, new tick...)
    - send orders to the market (market and limit order)
    - set stop loss and take profit order
    - receive an event when my order is filled

I'd like something very generic/open so I can add whatever I want on top of these low levels features.

Any help welcome,
    Thanks !

2. Bowgett

Bowgett

3. I think you could do all that with IB and Sierra Chart

4. Hi gayaku,