How to choose stocks for shorting, based on their past performance?

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by Kust, Mar 28, 2019.

1. Kust

Kust

Momentum investing traditionally implies long-only strategies. I'm trying to adapt its ideas for shorting stocks when the market trend is bearish.

For choosing stocks, is it better to use their absolute returns (volatility adjusted) or performance relative to some index?

Even more important question. What time period to use? 12 months or 6 months or some other?

I understand that one can answer all these questions with the help of backtesting. But I'm still a newbie. Conducting such a backtesting would be an overkill for me.

2. So let me get this straight. You want to play the hedge fund/quant game, but can't even be bothered to run a backtest? What is it about finance that makes people think they can compete with a literal army of PhDs without doing any hard work?

Do you realize that hedge funds have been performing terribly (on average) for years, even with all the money and smarts available to them? Backtests are the bare minimum of due diligence in this game, they don't guarantee anything but not having one is almost a guarantee of failure.

Here's my advice for you: Imagine how much time you would have to spend working to make back all the money you lost by shorting stocks with a strategy that wasn't even backtested. Now ask yourself if you're willing to spend that much time researching how to actually trade. If the answer is no, stay far far away from shorting stocks. Buy and hold is always a good alternative for lazy people.

murray t turtle likes this.
  3. it will help you to understand movement price if you want to enter in a right place for short trade. check out Bookmap, it gives a clear look about the price movements. they got great education videos about the software.

zdreg likes this.
  4. %%