How to calculate long-term variance in GARCH?

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by micky04, Dec 25, 2018.

1. micky04

micky04

I just started learning what GARCH is and how it works. In the future, I hope to incorporate it in my backtests.
    However, I'm not sure how I should calculate the long-term variance when doing backtests. I can't simply take all the returns in my dataset because that would create look-ahead bias. What should I do?

2. sle

sle

Not sure what you are going to use it for, but for what it's worth, sensitivity to the little fluctuations in the long term is pretty small. Your best bet is probably to use a rolling window that would be always behind your estimator.

3. micky04

micky04

So just to clarify, if I want to find the GARCH of 21 March 2007 of MSFT, I use the returns from the beginning of MSFT's price history to 21 March 07 to calculate the long term variance, and the same for 21 March 2008?

If that's case, would it create some rather biased long-term variance for some dates? Like if a stock's history starts at 2006 and I want to find the GARCH of 21 March 2007. The long-term variance will probably be underestimated.

4. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

tommcginnis likes this.
  5. gaussian

gaussian

Since you were fairly vague I hope I am correct in understanding your definition of Long-Term Variance. You are training a model on N data and trying to predict N+X where X is some large number. For example, training on last year's data to predict the variance every day this year. Or the next 10 years of variance. Something like that.