How to build a resume to work as a trader?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by aknaya1, Aug 14, 2008.

1. aknaya1

aknaya1

Hello, first post here. I am an aspiring trader, would like to work as a currency or commodity trader for a bank or other firms.

Current Plan:
    Finished MBA from U Chicago in June 2007. Working a corporate job now, bored with it. Planning to take CMT exams (certified market technician), Series 3 for commodities and futures, and take courses at Chicago related to derivative trading strategies and risk management. I have been watching the markets for about 6-9 months, and trade on a demo account right now.

But alternative paths could include doing another master's degree in financial engineering or preparing for the CFA exam instead....

Just feel uncertain as to where my current plan takes me.... a CMT/Series 3 and random courses at Chicago after I've already graduated.....

Any insight appreciated....

2. Explain please why you would work for a broker.

For money? You will never get wealthy working for someone else.
    For stability? Brokers fire traders for no reason.
    For prestige? How much prestige is there in working for someone because you couldn't make it as an independent?

Not trying to be hard, just realistic. Have you developed your own system? Can you at least beat the S&P?

If your plan is to steal some system from your broker, a client, or glean something from their systems that will enable you to beat the markets, I respectfully wag my head in disagreement. School taught you about investing, but only time with your own money on the 'buy' and 'sell' buttons will teach you how to trade.

Is cash a problem and you don't have anything to trade? If so, work your cojones off and save for it, then you will respect your trades more.

I simply don't understand why someone would work 8-5 when they could work 6-2 or 6-8 and be done with it... in their boxers!