How should a newb trade 50 K

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by mrfong8, Apr 29, 2005.

1. mrfong8

mrfong8

i had another thread but it wasn't written very good, so i figure i try another thread and address my situation more specifically.

i am new to prop trading and getting confused in a mixed up working environment. There isnt any mentor i can seek out for , nor are there any traders that like to discuss things.

I can't seem to get good advice from manager either because he seems to only offer advice that encourage heavy volume trading.
    He kept emphasizing the effect of making 1, 2 pennies on millons of shares.

So what can i do to improve trading? I have read lot of fundamental, TA, market psychology and some other market books, but not many directly target at trading. i do buy every issue of SFO, ActiveTrader, and i still find nothing very useful .

So please if any one can give me some points on how to pick a direction, form a plan and system

I will greatly appreciate

PS i have about 50K w/ the firm. i think should would give me a lot intraday BP, by i don't want to use too much leverage on it for now. How big of a position should i take?

2. I think you should take the largest possible position on Monday and roll the dice. One way of doing that would be to take a New York Times and open to the stock tables. Tape the page on the wall and throw a dart. Whatever stock the dart hits, just put it all on that one, and hold on until you are either broke or a millionaire. Believe me, this is the best way to start your career. No matter what happens, I predict you will always remember Monday as a very special day in your life :D

Lefty

3. mrfong8

mrfong8

if that's the best you can tell me , thank you

4. Again, you are not at a prop firm. You are at an arcade that is selling itself as a prop firm. Why? Because a prop firm puts up the money and takes ALL the risk.