How Safe are Interactive Brokers?

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by LordMelbury, Nov 25, 2007.

1. I have been using IB (UK) for 4 years, i have tried many brokers over the years but i have found IB are the best in all departments, even customer services are very helpful since i moved from the US to the UK version.

I have an average of $250,000 lodged with them which i need for my trading.

Following the Bankruptcy of Refco and talk of maybe some big banks collapsing in the future i am starting to get worried.

Do i have anything to worry about re the safety of my money with Interactive Brokers?

2. just21

just21

3. The first $70K is safe as they are FSA regulated in the UK. If your account is in joint names you will get double protection.

If you read the latest news on the IB website they claim to have client funds spread across various banks, so as to reduce risks of anyone bank failing..

http://individuals.interactivebrokers.com/en/general/about/ibgStrength.php?ib_entity=llc

There are no garantees except the first $70K, but at worst we get $70K back to reseed our trading accounts :p

4. just21

just21

Hasn't the £35k limit been raised to £100k or are we still waiting for legislation?

5. IB is ranked number one almost every year for financial soundness by the NFA. They take cash on hand vs customer funds or something like that.

Anyway, futures aren't insured (at least here in the States), but one reason I have my funds with IB is for the security. I lost an account when another firm went under several years ago (Futureswise).

6. How big was Refco? How many people would have said that Refco would go down?

If Refco could go down, is there another broker that couldn't? No.

Is IB the least likely to go down? Close enough.

Do you have anything to worry about? Yes. You have to worry about IB going down. Is it likely? No.