How Old?

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by youngtrader, Dec 10, 2007.

1. Im 17 going to be 18 in june and wondering if I can trade prop remote from my home or an office near by. I live in rural Iowa so going to a major city during the summer is out of the question (believe me I have already asked my parents). The main reason I want to trade prop is for the leverage I can get and also just to experience it. I want to trade for a firm that would allow me to trade physical commodities like softs and grains. Do any prop firms do this type of thing? If they do can anybody point me in the right direction.

Thanks

2. at your age good luck being taken seriously by any firm whatsoever.

3. silver thanks for the reply but I already thought of this. Yes at my age not many in this industry take me serious but I believe numbers speak for themselves. Im a very profitable trader although I have much to learn and to be honest I have a feeling my folks are going to cut off my trading so I can save what I have made for college (overated imo). I am looking for a firm that would provide me with enough capital to trade and also let me trade remote from home.

4. you could trade index futures , you get enough leverage for it more than a prop firm almost, im 18 too hehe

5. very profitable at 17 years old? unless you are some kind of trading prodigy (they exist) let me doubt that. Most experienced traders with university education requires YEARS of diligent trading to become successful.

if you are a trading prodigy then the guys who run the firms will see it immediately and they will throw money at you for sure. However, most likely they wont let a kid play with their money.

im curious about what you call very profitable. is it too much to ask to post some kind of track record or something like that? i would really like to see if you are the next trading superstar.