How often do the currencies move this fast?

Discussion in 'Forex' started by TraderGreg, Aug 8, 2008.

1. Seems rather insane to me. I'm a very new forex trader?

Based on charts, it seems like most forex moves are slower trends. How often does forex move like this? Once every few years or so maybe?

Btw, I'm definitely not complaining, but I just want to know how typical these moves are. Thanks for your help.

Greg

2. sg20

sg20

Look at AUDJPY wkly chart; same thing happened last year, it can get very wild.

3. When everyone rushes to the exits - which is what you have now in the short dollar trade - you get these time of mass moves. But it's not very often that it happens. You don't see moves like yesterday and today all the time.

4. Just off the top of my head this has to be the biggest or one of the biggest moves in the euro since i've been watching markets (late 2000) it was down over 3 handles earlier today.

5. I was just thinking that, and it was around the same time, August. Less volume during the holiday season maybe?

Gbp/Jpy fell 2,475 pips in a week, nice if you were short but unfortunately I wasn't :(

6. bkveen3

bkveen3

After it broke 1.5300 I stayed up all night because I knew it was going to be ridiculous.

7. word is 97% of all forex traders are making money on this move. I know you're among them

8. ptunic

ptunic