How much to risk per trade?

Discussion in 'Risk Management' started by castor_t, Jun 12, 2013.

1. castor_t

castor_t

I am new to trading and have recently started day trading. I know that trading is risky, but I also believe that one could make a decent amount by learning the art of trading.

I have a question here to all the experienced.
    Let's say I have $20,000 in my trading account.

1. How much capital should i invest max. per trade?
    2. At what point (loss) should i stop trading for the day?

What is the decent amount of profit that I should get consistently per day to start trading for living?

Thanks.

2. kut2k2

kut2k2

Never exceed your Kelly fraction.

Kelly for traders

3. trilogic

trilogic

2:1

risk .50 to make a buck so long run if your "method" is 50/50 you should be ahead .

4. deaddog

deaddog

That’s a number that you alone will have to come up with. How much is enough?

Once you determine that number, see what percent return you need per year to get there.

Then ask yourself if it’s reasonable to expect that return?

5. First off, I would recommend doing virtual trading for a while. This will help you get into a daily routine, get used to software, indicators, charts, your research, order types, try out strategies, and many other things. If you are brand new to trading, it would be prudent to at least try virtual trading before trading a real account.