How much time does an option trade to fill?

Discussion in 'Options' started by nobodye2, Sep 6, 2012.

1. nobodye2

nobodye2

Hi, i'm a newbie looking to give money to the market :) . i've been in a simulator trading options the last few months with pretty good results. And yesterday was the first time that i daytraded options. I bought 90 AMZN puts with expiration on 7 this month, at 0.56 (stock at 247.3+ i think), and sold them at 0.92 (stock close to 245.65). A pretty good trade, =). But i wonder if it was reallistic. I mean, there was good volume at that moment, 2000 something, and i find out the best moment looking at intraday charts. The price of options was delayed by 15 min (i look at google finance that is less delayed than the simulator i use it looks), so i had that in mind too when placing the order. i had a 45 min window to sell in a really good profit. In real trading conditions could i have done that?, the order would have been filled?

So the question is that, and that of the title, on stock brokers online like ameritrade, etrade, etc. I know it depends on volume, so im talking in stock with good options volume and open interest, like goog, appl, spy, fb, etc. And dont think that i pretend to daytrade options, it looks pretty risky for me, but im just curious.

2. RE: How much time does an option trade to fill?

That's sort of a tongue twister. This is a well known tongue twister: "How much wood would a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood? "

:)

3. nobodye2

nobodye2

the question was: how much time takes an option trade to fill?...you know what i mean by that! :mad:

Sorry for my english...:)

4. Faster than it takes you to submit a post to ET. Unless you try and nickel and dime them with a limit order between the bid/ask spread, that can be penny wise pound foolish at times.

:)

5. nobodye2

nobodye2