How much should I be earning

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by washington, Jul 20, 2002.

1. I've been reading this board for a few months and I've been trading for a few months.

I am too much of an amateur to post because I really connot add to the body of knowledge, but there is something I finally need to know.

I have a 50K account with 4:1 margin. How much should I be earning each day? From reading posts here I cannot tell what a good jouneyman trader should make.

I work from home, and need a reasonable daily goal in order to perform. What is truly reasonable for someone in my circumstances.

Please do not express in percent, because someone with a 25k account can earn a much higher percent than someone with a million dollar account.

I'm not asking what the most brilliant traders make, but how much do the guys in those trading rooms make with this amount of capital.

I keep raising my personal goal $100 day at first, now I try for $600 per day net, but I can't tell from this board what it should be, and when I should be content. I feel like I'm up against a glass ceiling, but I need to know what I should be doing.

Thank you very much for your advice.

2. Banjo

Banjo

You can't think about this business in those terms, % of return on capital. It will make you focus on a goal of numbers instead of focusing on the trade. Taking the play you're in to it's t/a or environmental limits is the key. ROI is only a measure of what the market makes availabe in any given time period. You can't trade what isn't there just because you're looking for a number at the end of the day.

3. You asked the wrong question, its hard to get numbers out of anyone, they all like to talk in generalities.

If you were reasonably good you would be doing much better than $600 a day with 50,000 capital.

Easy for me to say.

Prop houses are different because they have 10/1 margin. Its hard to get the truth out of their traders, they always tell you about the superstars.