How much does a specific market matter?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by milktruck, Oct 16, 2008.

1. If I can intraday position trade one market profitably, but it is a pain in the ass (London hours forex majors from east coast USA), and I believe I have opportunities to trade for a living in other markets (US hours), is the learning curve going to be incredibly steep if I change gears?

All my entries/exits are swing points, trend lines, break outs, yadda yadda. I just try to figure out if its going up or down as painlessly as possible on the risk/reward front. This stuff seems like it would be universal.

Anyone been there and done that?

So, um, reassure me that markets are markets.

2. I trade many different markets essentially the same with classical price action, trend lines, volume, etc.

each market has its own personality of course, but that's easy to pick up. Trading in general is tough cause all of the mental crap, but once ya get it profitable in one market, its easy to shift.

For example, i am currently day trading FX, which i would not have done about two months ago. The equity disaster has led to big intra day fx swings that are quite predictable depending on what ES is doing. When everything mellows out, then i will shift gears to something else. I always trade at least one market in addition to my standard ES/NQ. that way if stocks are dead, maybe there is money in something else. its boring enough as it is!

3. what markets do you choose to trade?

4. MGJ

MGJ