How much breathing room for the Dow

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Mr.B, Apr 19, 2006.

1. Mr.B

Mr.B

I am a Emini Dow trader and I usually hold my winners for atl east 20 or more ticks. My question is how much breathing room do you give the dow when entering a trade before you will take a loss. I am currently using a 5-7 tick stop when entering my trades. Does anyone have a different method.

2. Pekelo

Pekelo

It really depends on your strategy and style. I also go for the bigger moves, and I have found that I need to give more breathing room (20 points) because of the volatility. Since your style looks similar to mine, I would say the 5-7 points are too tight.
    Time will tell though...

3. TraderIam

TraderIam

Same here, usually about 20 pts as well. 5 pts is very tight depending on your style ya might want to ease up a bit.

Happy trading:)

4. Mr.B

Mr.B

Can others elaborate on their trade execution and where they place there stops. What indicators are you looking for when preparing to enter a trade.

5. volente_00

volente_00

I traded YM for a year but have since switched to ES. I always used a 20 point stop.

6. TraderIam

TraderIam

I use adx, williams, rsi, and bollinger bands. I usually look for oversold conditions in the williams and divergence in the rsi. Then I look for a downturn in the adx. I use the bolinger band s for support and resistance. I am only after a few points, but in order to get them I need to give the trade room to happen. I used to place my stops super close because I was scared of lose and then the trade would get stopped out and then go my way and I would actualy lose more money because of my fear.

Anyhow this is what works for me.

Happy trading :D :D

7. Mr.B

Mr.B