how many ex programmers are on ET

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by oil_trader, Nov 10, 2005.

Are you an IT or ex IT person

1. yes I am a outsourced code monkey - I confess

13 vote(s)
    13.5%
  2. yes I have been trading and contracting in IT

21 vote(s)
    21.9%
  3. I am a burned out coder who wants to work less hours and make more

31 vote(s)
    32.3%
  4. I've never programmed in my life - get real.

31 vote(s)
    32.3%
  1. from some searches I have done it became obvious and apparent that a large percentage of ET'ers are busted IT guys who are wondering what is the next big thing for them and hoping that trading may be it

2. mnx

mnx

hmmmm,

none of those poll options would really describe me...

i studied computer science in school and have done a little programming since elementary school. Never really got into it bigtime, couldn't get a job in IT out of school so I ended up trading.

I've done a little programming on the side for automation of trading tasks, but it's pretty minor stuff overall...

mnx

3. patoo

patoo

so.....ya caught me!

But I can program Easy Language real purty!:D

4. "Busted IT" maybe not an accurate statement. There are clearly quite a few ET'ers who used to do quite well as IT dev or managers, just find that trading is a better way of life, that's all. The reasons are either more money, more freedom, more enjoyment, or a combination of all of the above, not necessarily "busted". It is impossible to work in an ibank, or an investment firm, and going to meetings with the head traders, and know almost as much as they do, and wondering why they make $3 - 5M, and the IT person would make $250 - 300.

I will admit, I spent most of my career on the street doing tech, then switched over to doing analytics, then trading. It just makes professional / financial sense, that's all.

5. pdonlevy

pdonlevy

I spent 14 years in IT. The work I liked has been outsourced.