how many different symbols to trade dow jones index? indu,ym,dd. what r differences?

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by johnpalley, Nov 3, 2009.

1. i am a beginner at this and know very little about trading futures. i want to trade the dow jones futures but theres so many different symbols. the symbols i know of are-

indu-dow jones industrial ave (nyse)

ym-mini sized dow jones industrial ave

dd- big sized dow jones $25 (ecbot)

i dont know how to decide which one to choose? are there also more of them? i know the mini is the most popular but i understand that i can make more money from the indu because 1 contract makes you 25$ a point and the mini only makes you $5 a point. can someone please help me understand the differences between all these? can someone also please tell me what symbol is the actual index that you see on cnbc every day? i can trade that right? thanks for your time

2. rcj

rcj

The ym is the one you want, bro. Stay away from the other
    two contracts... the 10 and 25.

How much heat can you take ?? How much cash can you lose??

you cant trade the dow index directly.

3. im a beginner please explain? is the indu the $10? why stay away? it seems like you can make more money in the non mini futures

4. rcj

rcj

the 10 is pit traded and electronically traded and the perf. bond
    is about 13K per car. Low volume. Stay the hell away!

the 25 has practically no vol and perf. bond/car is over 30K.

You're a beginner, right?? You had best get your thinking pointed
    toward how much you can afford to lose before anything like
    what you said above.

cheers.