How long did you take to make money

Discussion in 'Trading' started by dakr, Aug 30, 2019.

1. dakr

dakr

Hi all,

Just joined the forum today after someone recommended it.

I've been working on algorithmic trading for the last 3 years. I have a full time job, so I do this just about every night and every weekend. The first 1.5 years was just on data sourcing and cleansing. Then generating signals and testing various strategies.

So far my result has been zilch. I haven't found not one strategy that is worth taking live. Now feeling defeated and dejected after the last idea turned out to be a dud as well.

Just wondering what other people's experiences are. How long did it take you to become profitable. Are there any pitfalls or secret sauce to become successful?

Thanks.

ElectricSavant likes this.
  2. So where are you sourcing the data and how do you clean it? Real time? What are the related expenses running?

3. tommcginnis

tommcginnis

If you're trying to write algos before you know how to trade, it won't work.
    Figure out a dynamic market first, then reduce your routine to rules, then code those rules.
    THEN test, backtest, retest, rewrite, tweak, geek, and freak.
    In one word: SCREENTIME.

joker542, MACD, GregorySG9 and 5 others like this.
  4. gaussian

gaussian

Relax. If you're spending more than 30 minutes to an hour a night finding setups you're wasting time.

No matter how smart you think you are, no matter what technology you throw at it, you will discover spurious correlations. Strategy hunting by brute force is awful and a great way to go broke. You must have a hypothesis, collect data, test it, and repeat.