How Long did it take to become profitable?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Mr.B, Oct 24, 2006.

1. Mr.B

Mr.B

I have been trading live for 7 months now. I primarily trade the YM and have started to become more consistant. When I started I lost money 4-5 days a week for the first three months. I have started trading 2-3 lotts now and I am able to make money 4-5 days per week without having any major blow ups on that 5th day. I still have not taken home a paycheck even though my account is now positive. My question is how long did it take you before you took home a paycheck and can you explain the process for to get to that point, and how long did it take you to make a living out trading.

Thanks

2. Colombo

Colombo

3 years.
    It was right in front of me the entire time ....

Find risk reward scenarios that are in your favor. Only trade these. Otherwise, sit on your hands, go running, read, do something else. Keep a Journal. Learn where you are making money and where you are not. Then, do only the former and abstain from the latter.

95% of the advice you get on this website is worth about as much as you pay for it. Same with what you get on the net. Your time in front of the screen is much better spent researching price action, backtesting, paper trading, trading - not chatting, writing blogs or researching web sites. A good portion of what you read or can buy on the internet is from people who have failed at their attempts at trading for a living and now excel as profets of TA or as teachers. There is a saying where I come from, "Those who cannot do, Teach". You usually reflect the skills of your mentor. You do the math.

Be your own teacher.