How long before you become a "Pattern Day Trader"?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by ANCHOR, Jul 14, 2002.

1. ANCHOR

ANCHOR

I have a question about just how long it takes before your account gets tagged as a pattern day trader account. Let me explain.

I just started trading some of my sisters money from her datek account. She only has a few thousand dollars in it but she wanted me to see if I could make her some extra money. She did not want to put her money in my account so I told her that I would just trade it off and on from her datek account.

After 2 weeks of decent trading (3-5 trades per day, all "cash only") the account is still not considered a pattern day trader account. My question is, does anyone know how long it takes before it will become a pattern day trading account? I was also wondering if I was to stop trading with this account right now if sometime down the road it would just pop up as a pattern day trader account. Like maybe it just takes a while for datek to realize the amount of trades and liable it as such.

Does anyone know how long I can trade like this before they liable the account PDT? Or if they may just liable the account PDT sometime down the road due to the number of trades that I have already made with the account?

Just looking for quick answers.

Thanks.

2. TAguru5

TAguru5

You can trade a cash account as often as you like. The PDT rule only applies to margin accounts as far as I know.

3. ANCHOR

ANCHOR

Okay, that's what I thought. So what happens if I want to margin the account? Will they look at my past trades and liable the account PDT right away or does the amount of trades you make only matter after you margin your account?