How I lost Money in Stocks

Discussion in 'Trading' started by newbie, Nov 20, 2001.

1. newbie

(I posted this link to the money management thread-but that one is too long and might get overlooked. I think the idea in this post is crucial to understand. I quit stock trading because I didn't understand this and went on futures trading because I understood the fixed ratio method. Any other stock money management ideas would be helpful...... moderator-you can erase the post on the previous thread.)

BEGINNING
    I just realize one of the major reasons why I lost so much dough trading stocks last year..... position sizing. I have a buddy who subscribes to a chat room where they pound this idea more than they pound the stocks calls themselves. He showed me that you can be -$2.00/share for the day and still make money. It's basic-but enlightening.

Here's how:

Assume your method you trade is accurate only 35% of the time and the win to loss ratio is 2 to 1. If you risk 1% of you $100,000 account on each trade ($1,000) and you know where your stop is before you enter a trade-you can be profitable. Think about it- if you have these numbers-and make 100 trades-35 winners and 65 losers- You win $5 (35 winners times $2=$70 minus 65 losers times $1). Here is an example below.

EXAMPLE:

Trade #1 has a stop $3.50 away
    Trade #2 has a stop $1.50 away
    Trade #3 has a stop $2.00 away
    Trade #4 has a stop $.50 away

On trade #1-you would buy 285 shares of that stock. ($1000 divided by the $3.50/share stop). If you get stopped out.....
    you lose $1,000.
    Trade #2 you would buy 667 shares...if you get stopped out- you lose $1,000
    Trade #3 you would buy 500 shares and if you get stopped out you lose $1,000
    On Trade #4-you buy 2000 shares and the stock goes up $2/share. You make $4,000 on this trade but lost $3,000 on the other three- so you still come out with $1,000.

HERE IS THE KEY: