How I lost 10 grand to IB popups

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by trade2live, Feb 16, 2010.

1. I am new to Interactive Brokers but not to trading. I recently opened an account despite the complaints I read about on ET and elsewhere. I trusted them to offer good executions for serious traders.
    I never lost so much money with bad executions since I am with IB ! At first , last week after I lost 10 grand in one day I felt I was going insane, I was so angry , but then I just became numb , depressed. It happened so quickly and it was so stupid I still can't believe it. It was all because of IB Tws and the popups, yes their POS software, supposedly a state of the art platform for professional traders.
    Well the idiots who designed this "trader workstation" have no idea what trading is about, they caused me to take my largest loss ever , and in one day !

On Tuesday morning around 7am ET I was short some 30 YG from the week before, I realized the market was going the other way and decided to get out before waiting for a loss. Around 7:30 as I prepared my order , gold started breaking out and I hit the transmit button, that's when I got a pop up window asking me whether I wanted to cancel my attached stop order or the order to cover just sent, wtf ! actually I am not sure what it asked because it went so fast , I was furious. But that was nothing compared to what happened next: in 5 seconds before the order was actually on the exchange, gold jumped 5 points and when all was done I had lost $5,200 !
    I couldn't believe my eyes.

I decided to follow my rules and keep trading that day, since this wasn't my fault . I would call the IB helpdesk at the end of the day to let them know what happened and see what kind of answer they would give.