How hard will I get crushed by this volatility crush?

Discussion in 'Options' started by ccbb, Oct 16, 2017.

1. ccbb

ccbb

Hi, Im still new to trading and have a question regarding implied volatility.
    I bought a 220 OCT NFLX call option a couple of days ago for the upcoming earnings. I already made a decent profit on them ~30%. Now my question is if 2moro the stock opens at 220 what will my option be worth after volatility crush. How can I calculate this myself, my broker does not provide the tools for that. Thanks

2. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

Our LVX software can help estimate that. You will still have to have a process to make that guess.

upload_2017-10-16_11-18-35.png

3. I would start by looking at historicals of the crush post earnings announcement. You can create a whole science out of this trading method. Charting vol updrift then crush , charting straddles to determine optimum entry, straddle scalping AFTER the earnings if vol crush is too excessive bec oftentimes, the market over-adjusts, how many times stock has beaten, by how much. I am sure someone , somewhere is doing this bec this is road less traveled..why? a lot of work ! Good luck.

4. ccbb

ccbb

Thanks for the info. Is there a site where I can check historic option prices for free. Like from NFLX last earnings date.My broker does not povide that.

5. thinkorswim .. check their ondemand

tfp likes this.
  6. spindr0

spindr0

Here's a fairly simple way to guesstimate an answer. Go to IVolatility (free sign up) and look at the one year implied volatility graph for NFLX. You can see the three previous quarterly IV expansion into earnings and their subsequent collapses after the release. Note the IV that they contracted to.

http://www.ivolatility.com/options.j?ticker=NFLX:NASDAQ&R=1&period=12&chart=2&vct=