How hard is Forex?

Discussion in 'Forex' started by 892king, Apr 2, 2009.

1. 892king

892king

Hi, I know it sounds very stupid.
    So, let me elaborate about my question.

I'm a college student from South Korea.
    As a biz major student, I've been interested in trading and I heard that trading has many similarities with poker.(I've played poker and had some success.)
    After this semester, I have to go back to Korea to do community service for 2 years.
    Then, I will come back to complete my degree.

I got interest in Forex since it can be done in everywhere in the world.
    If I trade Korean stocks or options, I should study US stocks when I come back.
    And if I trade US stocks without many regulations, I should use my US trade account and I have to pay a lot of taxes comparing to taxes in Korea.(Assuming I make profit)

I heard Forex is pretty tough market for individual traders.
    However, I thought I can make 20~40% of what you invested every month consistently.
    But I read an article here ( http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=157466 ) and one person says something like

''What does the average profitable forex trader make per month, around 4 or 5% on average at this level? Let's be conservative and say 3%. Compounded that's around 42% per year so he would need closer to 170k capital, if he compounds for a year before he draws out any of his profits. Then there's inflation to take into account''

I know who is trading stocks in Korean stock market and he runs 100Kish and makes 50K consistently.
    I know he's a very very good trader, but he says that making 50% return in 10Kish stake is not a phenomenal results.
    He used to be a poker player and I know he's not lying.

So I wonder that if making 20% average return is exceptionally hard in forex market, in 10~50K stake.

Sorry about my bad English and please let me know if you need more elaboration.

Thank you

2. cvds16

cvds16